Random Free Association, Cognitive Observations, & Emotive Diatribes all working together in harmony…

ImageSo, this has been bothering me for a few days.  In my old age I have learned that bigotry in not just a black/white issue.  For years I rode the fence on the gay marriage issue.  Much like our president I started believing that civil unions would be enough.  I hoped that would appease the LGBT community while allowing the Christians to “save face.”  Yet, as the years passed and the issue heated up I realized something extremely important – bigotry doesn’t deserve to save face. 

 America has a strong history of bigotry.  When slavery began slaves were not allowed to marry because it was a threat to the good white Christian way of life.  Slaves were not human and therefore could not claim the freedom to love and start a family.  That lasted up until the late 1860’s.

Then 100 years later the good bigots were still saying interracial marriages were an abomination and would be the end of “good God fearing Christian” values.  There is nothing like little mixed children breaking down the color barriers and making it harder to discriminate. 

So here we are at the beginning of the 21st century and now LGBT marriages will corrupt the Christian institution of marriage.  Those damn gays will kill straight marriages.  Really?  I wasn’t aware that what someone else did reflected on God’s love for me.  I didn’t know that how someone else loved made Jesus judge me harshly. 

I’d like to think God is nowhere near that arbitrary.  I’d also hope that he is more concerned with how we treat each other rather than which scriptures we arbitrarily choose to enforce with extreme prejudice. 

At the end of the day this was never about deep fried steroid enhanced chicken.  This is about espousing bigotry over love.  You cannot swear you love Jesus and forget his most powerful rule.   

 

Matthew 22:34-40

The Greatest Commandment

 

34 Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees got together. 35 One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with this question: 36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[c] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[d] 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

If this is the greatest commandment then you should want for all people that which you would want for yourself. 

Matthew 22:34-40

The Sheep and the Goats

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

If you believe in Christianity then should this be the scriptures you choose?  Just a thought.

Comments on: "Chik-fil-A, Gays, and What Jesus says" (1)

  1. Bigotry and bias are as American as apple pie. At the end of he day, I don’t give a tinker’s damn about the politics or opinions of the powers that be at Chick Fil A, I just want a good chicken sandwich. That said, I believe with the current state of the economy it helps us all to have strong viable American businesses. Given the cause and effect here, I think going forward people in these positions will be more inclined to shut the hell up or think before opening their mouths.

    As consumers we decide where we will an will not spend our dollar, that’s where our power lies,

    Nice post.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

